•  

    TEXAS OUTDOOR EDUCATION CENTER

    “We must make sure the next generation also has the opportunity to have meaningful encounters with nature, because they cannot grow to love nature if they do not experience it. If children lose their love of nature, who will be the environmental stewards of the future?”
     -  America's Great Outdoors: A Promise to Future Generations

    Camp Fire Camp El Tesoro is an outdoor laboratory where students and teachers can combine their efforts and expertise to learn about and care for the natural environment. Knowledge gained through hands-on outdoor learning activities and applications set the stage for a lifelong commitment to protect our environment and create solutions to the environmental challenges that arise.

     

    Unit lessons support the TEKS and STAAR, define measurable objectives, provide dynamic hands-on activities and support classroom experiences. Students are led through both formal and informal activities to introduce and reinforce scientific concepts and competencies required for their grade level. Everything from archery and campfires are used as real life examples to build dialogue and understanding around scientific content.

     

    Our visit to Camp El Tesoro will be April 23-24. We will revisit many of the TEKS that we have learned this year in order to help our students prepare for the science STAAR test in May. We will leave Monday morning and return home on Tuesday in time for afternoon dismissal. If you would like more information, please message us by clicking on the "Contact Us" button on the left, emailing us, or calling us at 817-232-0086.

     

    Jennifer Anders  janders@ems-isd.net

    Barbara Chavez  bchavez@ems-isd.net

    Virginia Lopez  vlopez@ems-isd.net

    Kristi Rush  krush@ems-isd.net

    Katina Walker  kwalker@ems-isd.net

    Drew Wilson  awilson01@ems-isd.net

     

    Click HERE to go to Camp El Tesoro/CampFire's website.