Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD Purchasing Department Receives Top Award for Third Year

Purchasing Department
Director of Purchasing, Lucia Cieszlak and Buyer/Purchasing Clerk, Carla Anthony

The EM-S ISD Purchasing Department is therecipient of the Texas Association of School Business Officials (TASBO) Awardof Merit (AOM) for Purchasing and Operations for the third year in a row. This year the District was awarded Recognized Status as part of the honor. The AOM recognizes school districts’ achievement in implementing best practices in thearea of purchasing and is awarded to school districts and Education ServiceCenters statewide that are committed to following professional standards in theacquisition of goods and services. The Recognized Status is awarded to districts that are considered the most innovative in Texas.

In determining Award of Merit designees, TASBO reviewedvarious procedures and practices including: organization, policies andprocedures, contract operations, staff training and certification, p-cardsystems (if applicable), warehousing, use of technology, communication andmanagement of co-operative programs. Two independent reviewers reviewed eachapplication.

“I am veryexcited that our district received the TASBO Award of Merit for PurchasingOperations for the third year in a row. This is a great accomplishment. Our department has worked very hard in the past three years to establish newprocedures and regulations, and it has paid off. I also want to thank ouremployees for their continued support in adapting tothese new procedures. I am pleased that our district is being recognized notonly academically but also for its business practices,” said Lucia Cieszlak,Director of Purchasing.

The department will be recognized in February at the TASBOAnnual Conference to be held in San Antonio.