• Middle School STAAR Testing

    Middle School Students Will Participate in the Following Assessments Under STAAR
    • Grade 6  Reading and Math

    • Grade 7 Reading, Math, and Writing

    • Grade 8 Reading, Math, Science, and Social Studies

    Student Performance

    Student's scores on the STAAR test will be rated in one of the three categories below:

    • Level III: Advanced Academic Performance

    • Level II: Satisfactory Academic Performance

    • Level I: Unsatisfactory Academic Performance

    Time Limits
    TEA established a four (4) hour time limit for both STAAR grades 3-8 assessments and STAAR EOC assessments for the 2012 spring test administration. TEA notes that a four hour time limit should provide sufficient time for the majority of students to complete the test. The rationale for time limits aligns Texas testing practices with other timed state and national assessments, i.e. SAT, ACT and AP examinations. Extended time accommodations for students with unique learning needs will continue to be offered.

    Impact on Grade Advancement
    Students will take STAAR exams for the first time in the spring of this school year. The Student Success Initiative requires that students in grades 5 and 8 pass both the reading and math exams to be promoted to the next grade. For one year 2011-2012, this requirement will not apply, since cut scores will not be established until the start of the 2012 school year. The requirement will return in the 2012-2013 school year. Students in grades 5 and 8 will once again be required to pass STAAR just like TAKS, before being promoted to the next grade level.