Return to Headlines

EMS ISD celebrates National Merit Semifinalist and Commended Scholars

photo of Steven Le, National Merit Semifinalist EMS ISD is proud to announce that Saginaw High School senior Steven Le has been named a Semifinalist in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. The Semifinalist pool represents less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors and includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. 

The National Merit Commended Scholarship program recognizes students for outstanding academic promise based on their scores and demonstrated ability on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which is typically taken during a student’s junior year of high school. Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered in the Spring.

“Steven is highly focused on his school work and he has a phenomenal work ethic. He goes well above the high expectations set by his teachers. He has a great relationship with his fellow classmates and thrives in a collaborative environment. In classroom discussions, he is a contributor to the learning and provides a unique insight on any given topic,” said Karen Pressley, principal of Saginaw High School. “Steven is an incredible individual. He has a kind heart, too. I can’t wait to see what his future holds!”

Steven enjoys competing in UIL Math & Science, UIL Computer Science, and Youth and Government. He has aspirations to attend Rice University or University of Texas at Austin where he plans to study Computer Science or Biomedical Engineering. 

To become a Finalist, Steven must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT scores that confirm his earlier performance on the PSAT/NMSQT. Finalist will be notified in February 2019. National Merit Scholarship winners are selected from the group of Finalists based on their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in college. National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in April 2019 through July 2019.   

Saginaw High School senior Cedric Fajardo has earned the honor of National Hispanic Scholar by College Board’s National Hispanic Recognition Program. Colleges use this program to identify academically exceptional Hispanic/Latino students.

Additionally, Cedric is one of three students district-wide who have been named Commended Scholars in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. Other EMS ISD commended students include: Greyson Barngrover of Boswell High School, and Reily Randolph (not pictured) of Chisholm Trail High School.

photo of Cedric Fajardo, National Hispanic Scholar and National Merit Commended  photo of Greyson Barngrover, National Merit Commended  

Learn more about the National Merit Scholarship Corporation