Return to Headlines

EMS ISD Communications department earns state awards

photo of twelve state awards earned at the TSPRA 2019 annual conference

The EMS ISD Communications department was honored with twelve state awards during the annual conference of the Texas School Public Relations Association (TSPRA).

Each year, TSPRA recognizes communicators in school districts, education foundations, education associations and organizations for their work in print and electronic media categories. There are 48 main categories covering various media such as newsletters, programs, posters, reports, writing, image/identity packages, photography, graphics, video, electronic presentations, mobile apps, campaigns, events and web sites.

Independent judges evaluate and score each entry based on its own merit. Bronze, Silver and Gold Stars are awarded based on set criteria. Finally, the judges review their highest scoring Gold Star winners and select a Best of Category for each division in each of the 48 categories.

EMS ISD competed with other districts who serve 10,000 to 30,000 students. This is the fourth consecutive year that EMS ISD Communications has been honored at the state and/or national level. This year's state awards represent work produced from July 1, 2017-June 30, 2018: 

Chelse Westbrook shows off her two Best of Category medals at TSPRA 2019 Star Awards Gold Star and Best of Category: 2018 Fine Arts Showcase at Bass Hall poster

Gold Star and Best of Category: EMS ISD eNews electronic community newsletter

Gold Star: Happy Holidays Greeting Card 2017

Gold Star: "Saginaw Elementary teacher instills love of reading in students" published feature

Gold Star: "Come meet us, humans!" social media promotion of 2018 STEM Showcase

Gold Star: EMS ISD Campus Connection electronic employee newsletter

Silver Star: New Resident Flyer 2018

Silver Star: 2018 Fine Arts Showcase at Bass Hall program

Silver Star: "Wreaths Across America" video feature

Bronze Star: Class of 2018 Graduation Celebration published advertisement

Members of the EMS ISD Communications department include: Megan Overman, director; Chelse Westbrook, marketing & engagement; Amanda Moore, systems & compliance; April Dunning, web & digital arts; Kris Hill, videographer; and Shelia Irwin, communications assistant.