Return to Headlines

Six named 2020 National Merit Commended Students

EMS ISD is proud to announce that Chisholm Trail High School senior Dillon Hageman and Boswell High School seniors Carter Cuellar, Macy Farr, Joseph Herlin, Jake Hout, and Paige Luney have been named Commended Students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The National Merit Scholarship Program recognizes students for outstanding academic promise based on their scores and demonstrated ability on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which is typically taken during a student’s junior year of high school. Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million who entered the competition by taking the PSAT in 2019. 

"The success and growth we are seeing in EMS ISD in the National Merit Program is exciting, and I commend these six students for their hard work and dedication to their learning," said Dr. Linda Parker, EMS ISD Deputy Superintendent. "Out of the approximately 1.6 million entrants, they are in the top 50,000 nationwide based on their PSAT score their junior year.  This year we are expanding our work to offer opportunities for all students to prepare for success on the national tests, including the PSAT, through our college preparatory classes found on the Counseling website."

We are #emsproud of these students for this prestigious academic achievement!

Pictured left to right: Walter Berringer, CTHS Principal; Dillon Hageman, 2020 National Merit Commended; Renata Schlotzhauer, CTHS Assistant Principal          Collage: pictured top:Joseph Herlin, Paige Luney, Macy Farr, Nika Davis pictured bottom:Carter Cuellar, Nika Davis, Jake Hout, Nika Davis