Return to Headlines

District Employees of the Year Announced

Published Monday, May 10, 2021


Each year, EMS ISD announces the district employees of the year and recognizes years of service during a special Employee Appreciation Awards luncheon. This year, in a continued effort to maintain the safety of staff during the COVID-19 pandemic, EMS ISD Superintendent Dr. Jim F. Chadwell and other members of district and campus leadership surprised the 2020-2021 district-level winners at their home campuses. 

"The employee of the year announcements are something we always look forward to each year at our annual appreciation luncheon," Chadwell said. "Even though we couldn't be together, we wanted to make sure these talented employees were honored in a special way. The 'awards patrol caravan' was a fun way to share some great news and celebrate this year's district winners." 

Earlier this year, each campus selected an Auxiliary Employee, Paraprofessional, Professional, and Teacher of the Year. From this group, one district winner was announced for each category. The selections were made using an anonymous committee process and secure online balloting.

During the campus visits, Dr. Chadwell surprised the district winners with the good news about their award. Each winner received a trophy, a customized gift basket from the EMS Education Foundation, and flowers. 

Additionally, each campus and department recognize employees who meet milestones in their years of service and those who are retiring. The complete list of winners by campus and central office, as well as this year's retirees, are recognized on the Campus Employee Awards webpage.

Congratulations to our 2020-2021 EMS ISD Employees of the Year and Service Awards Honorees!

Elementary Teacher of the Year: Lindsey Davis, Willow Creek Elementary School, Third Grade Teacher

Photo of elementary teacher of the year and administrative leaders inside an elementary classroom

Secondary Teacher of the Year: Katie Keyes, Boswell High School, Pre-AP Chemistry and Student Leadership Teacher

Photo of the secondary teacher of the year and administrative leaders inside Boswell high School

Professional of the Year: Amber Beene, Copper Creek Elementary School, Principal

Photo of the professional of the year and administrative leaders inside an elementary school

Auxiliary Employee of the Year: Mary Anne Billue-Hill, Hafley Development Center, Lead Custodian

Photo of the auxiliary employee of the year and administrative leaders inside an elementary school

Paraprofessional of the Year: Christina Jeffrey, Northbrook Elementary School, Attendance Clerk

Photo of the paraprofessional of the year and administrative leaders inside an elementary