Return to Headlines

District Employees of the Year Announced

Employees of the year, years of service award winners, and retirees from across EMS ISD were honored during the annual Employee Appreciation Awards luncheon held on May 17, 2022, at the Hollenstein Career and Technology Center (HCTC).  

Award winners, along with campus and district leaders and members of the Board of Trustees were treated to a lunch catered by the HCTC Culinary Arts students, and entertainment from the Chisholm Trail High School R.V.B. Ranger Vocal Band. 

EMS ISD Superintendent Dr. Jim Chadwell addressed those in attendance, thanking those who have worked in EMS ISD for 20 years or more, and those retiring.  

“To work in education is a calling,” Chadwell said. “These award winners and retirees have dedicated decades to educating children, and generations of EMS ISD students are now excelling in life because of their service.” 

Marking a special conclusion to the ceremony, the EMS ISD Auxiliary Employee of the Year, Paraprofessional Employee of the Year, Professional Employee of the Year, Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year were announced in the style of the Academy Awards, complementing the luncheon’s red-carpet theme. 

Emcee Shaw Bell, EMS ISD Fine Arts Director, opened the envelope and announced each of the winners to their surprise and the excitement of their co-workers. 

The district-level winners were selected from the campus and department winners chosen earlier in the school year using an anonymous committee process. 

The complete list of winners by campus and central office, as well as this year's retirees, are recognized on the Campus Employee Awards webpage

Congratulations to our 2021-2022 EMS ISD Employees of the Year and Service Awards Honorees! 

Elementary Teacher of the Year: Patricia Miller, Bryson Elementary School 

Elementary Teacher of the Year

Secondary Teacher of the Year: Melinda Malone, Wayside Middle School 

Secondary Teacher of the Year

Professional of the Year: Whitney Wheeler, Marine Creek Middle School, Assistant Principal 

Professional of the Year

Auxiliary Employee of the Year: Lillian Molleda, Wayside Middle School, Custodian 

Auxiliary Employee of the Year

Paraprofessional of the Year: Heather Granger, Greenfield Elementary School, Secretary 

Paraprofessional Employee of the Year