Return to Headlines

HCTC students earn medals at SkillsUSA Nationals

HCTC students Joseph Schinnerer, Andrew Hartnett, and Esme Avalos pose for a picture after earning medals at SkillsUSA.    Robotics students compete at SkillsUSA National Contest.    HCTC cosmetology student Esme Avalos poses with her instructor after earning Bronze at SkillsUSA.


Three Hollenstein Career and Technology Center students earned medals at the SkillsUSA National Contest in Louisville, Ky., June 23-29.   

HCTC Robotics students Joseph Schinnerer, a 2018 graduate of Saginaw High School, and Andrew Hartnett, senior at Chisholm Trail High School, took gold as the top Humanoid Robotics team in the country. The contest evaluated the students’ programming knowledge and their ability to develop, document, execute, and deploy a computer program for a humanoid robot to complete a series of tasks. The competition recognized outstanding students for excellence and professionalism in the fields of Human-Robot Interaction (HRI), Computer Science, Computer Programming, and Robotics. 

Esme Avalos, a 2018 Saginaw High School graduate, earned bronze in the Nail Care competition. This contest evaluated each contestant’s preparation for employment and recognized outstanding students’ excellence and professionalism in the field of nail technology. The contest consisted of six separate segments; oral communication skills, acrylic application, tips applied and overlaid with a light-cured gel, nail polish application, nail art pedicuring and a written exam testing knowledge of proper sanitation, chemical safety, salon procedures, etc. Avalos was supported in earning her bronze medal by Natalie Gonzalez, a 2018 SHS graduate, who served as her model. Avalos and Gonzalez completed the HCTC’s Cosmetology program, both earning their Cosmetology Operators license this spring.  

Congratulations to these talented EMS ISD students! 


HCTC Instructors/SkillsUSA Sponsors 

  • Demetrius Anthony – Robotics and Manufacturing 
  • Sheree Davis – Cosmetology 
  • Rick Griffith – Robotics and Aero Science 
  • Matt Tucker – Robotics and Manufacturing