Updated July 26, 2021
Be sure to always log in to Remind with your school email address!
Follow these instructions to merge a previous Remind account with your EMS ISD Remind account.
Claim your classes in Remind
When your school finalizes the master schedule, you will receive an email from Remind about class changes (Check your Junk mail!). New teachers: You will receive an email with directions to log in and claim your classes. Returning teachers: All you need to do is log in to Remind to gain access to your new classes.
When you log in to Remind, you'll see a screen with all your current and archived classes together. If you see a link icon, this means the class originated from your school's student information system (SIS), and Remind has created it for you.
- Use the three dots on the right to keep or archive your classes as desired.
- Once you click Finish, the classes from "Your class list" will appear on your home page, and the "Classes to be archived" will be in your archived classes section.
- You are able to restore your archived classes in your account settings at any time.
You can claim your classes via Remind.com on a computer, a mobile browser on your phone, or via the Remind app.
Send a message
To send a message, click the blue pencil composer and select the class you would like to send your message.
Class announcements are sent to all members of your class. When a participant replies to a class announcement, only the class owner who sent the message will receive the response.
Use previously-created classes and/or increase class size
You can now have classes with more than the previous limit of 150 participants. To increase the class size of a previously-created class, simply follow these instructions to associate that class with EMS ISD!
Q: Can we message all our classes at one time?
A: Yes! Once you click the blue pencil to compose, it allows you to select all the classes you would like to message. Then click Continue and begin composing your message. Remember: proofread, proofread, proofread!
Q: Are there any contacts already in my Remind when I claim it?
A: Parents received an email at the beginning of the year instructing them to enable their accounts, but we have no way to guarantee this happened. At this point, I would recommend sending out the class code in a Skyward message to your parents. Here are some options for them to join your class:
Email: send a blank email to [classcode]@mail.remind.com
Text: send @[classcode] to 81010
App: download the Remind app from the App Store or Google Play. Tap Join a Class and enter @[classcode]. Under Settings, chose to be notified by push notifications through the app or add a phone number for text messages and/or an email for email notifications.
Q: I am getting messages from a class I don't recognize. How can I leave a class?
A: To leave a specific class, text @LEAVE in reply to one of the messages.
Q: Do [participants] see when you delete them?
A: Yes, participants are notified when they are removed from a class.
Q: Is there a way to remove classes that have been created in the past?
A: You can archive classes no longer in use. Under Account Settings, click Archived Classes. Under Current Classes, you can click the three dots and choose Archive Class. Archived classes will no longer show up in your class list. Archived classes can also be reinstated, or you can reuse the class code with a fresh start.
Q: Is there a specific time window in which Remind messages can be sent?
A: Just use your best judgment. Usually, 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. is a good rule of thumb.
Q: If you allow replies, does everyone see the reply?
A: Replies to Class Announcements go to the class owner only.
Q: I get notifications on both text and on the app. Is there a way to turn one off?
A: Under Account Settings, select Notification Preferences and you can turn one or more on/off.
Q: Can more than one teacher "claim" classes/students?
A: Only the teacher of record in Skyward can claim classes; however, that teacher can add another teacher as an admin in the class. Within the class, click the People tab, add a person, then click the name and three dots to make an admin.
Other helpful tips:
Translation: To translate a message before sending, compose any new message and click the globe icon below to select a language. On our iPhone app, the globe and the word Translate will appear below the text as you type it. The most popular languages on Remind will appear in the menu but clicking More will give you the option of over 90 other languages. The translated message will instantly appear, and you can send or schedule it as usual.
Voice clips: If you have the app on your phone, you can also record and attach voice clips. These will be sent the same way as other file attachments.
- Compose a message
- Tap the microphone icon
- Press the red record button to start and stop recording.
- Each voice clip can be up to 20 seconds. If you're happy with your message, click "Attach." To replay your message before sending it, click the blue play button. If you want to redo your voice clip, press the "x" to go back.
- Send your message as usual!